AIMA Canada Volunteer Awards


The AIMA Canada Volunteer Awards celebrates some of our outstanding members who donate so much of their time and efforts to help advance our mission for advocacy and education. Nominations for these award categories open in the fall and are finalized in November each year. All awards are finalized by the AIMA Canada Executive Committee. There are no payments required for nominations.

Leading Champion Award 

  • Stand-out seasoned professional who has shown leadership & commitment, while making a significant contribution to the advancement of the alternative investment industry in Canada

Young Champion Award 

  • Stand-out young professional who has shown curiosity & commitment, while making a meaningful contribution to the advancement of the alternative investment industry in Canada

Outstanding Volunteer Award 

  • Stand-out individual who has gone above and beyond to fulfill AIMA Canada’s mandate, making outstanding contribution to the advancement of the alternative investment industry in Canada

Group Impact Award 

  • Stand-out team that has worked together to make an impactful contribution to the advancement of the alternative investment industry in Canada

Exceptional Service Award 

  • Stand-out individual who has consistently gone above and beyond to fulfill AIMA Canada’s mandate, having achieved a lifetime of exceptional contributions to the advancement of the alternative investment industry in Canada

We encourage members to consider nominating a fellow AIMA Canada member or member group for one of these awards by sending a short email of endorsement (200 words max) to Claire Van Wyk-Allan in early November of each year. Please also include suggested award category and nominee contact details.

Award recipients will be announced at our in-person Holiday Celebration event and each will receive a certificate of recognition with a small gift.


2023 Recipients 


  • Leading Champion Award: Jason Crelinsten, Converium
  • Young Champion Award: Lauren Watt, Polar Asset Management Partners
  • Outstanding Volunteer Award: Tim Pickering, Auspice Capital Advisors
  • Group Impact Award: Ron Landry, CIBC Mellon, CSA TCR Implementation Committee
  • Exceptional Service Award: Christophe L’Ahelec, University Pension Plan Ontario
  • Alternative Legacy In Memoriam: Paul Sandhu, Marret Asset Management, Ramesh Kashyap, Ninepoint Partners, Chris Callahan, Traynor Ridge


2022 Recipients

  • Leading Champion Award: Katrina Rempel, BMO Nesbitt Burns
  • Young Champion Award: Julia Vriend, CIBC CM
  • Outstanding Volunteer Award: Raj Tandon, Algonquin
  • Group Impact Award: 31-103 Working Group
    • Ian Pember (Glen Williams Consulting)
    • Rob Maxwell (Arrow Capital)
    • Ron Landry (CIBC Mellon)
    • Andy Smith (SGGG Fund Services) Jennie Baek (McMillan LLP)
    • Darin Renton (Stikeman Elliott LLP)
    • Norbert Knutel (Blake Cassels & Graydon LLP)
    • Lloyd Perruzza (Dynamic Funds)
    • Michael Burns (McMillan LLP)
  • Exceptional Service Award: Steve D’Mello, Albourne


2021 Recipients

  • Exceptional Service Award: Sarah Gardiner, BLG
  • Outstanding Volunteer Award: Kripa Kapadia, RPIA
  • Leading Champion Award: Jonathan Vapsva, CIBC Wood Gundy
  • Young Champion Award: Laura Garzon, CIBC Capital Markets
  • Group Impact Award: AIMA CFR Implementation Working Group led by Supriya Kapoor, Aurelius GRP 


2020 Recipients

  • Exceptional Service Award: Due Diligence & Advisory Group,Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan
    • Mark Hannoush
    • Darcy Dayment
    • Tim Zhang
    • Ritesh Patel
    • Seamus Lynott
  • Outstanding Volunteer Award: Supriya Kapoor, Aurelius GRP 
  • Leading Champion Award: Ron Kosonic, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
  • Young Champion Award: Nimar Bangash, AGF Investments
  • Group Impact Award: Ontario Capital Markets Modernization Consultation Working Group
    • Michael Burns, McMillan LLP
    • Jeff Olin, Vision Capital
    • Supriya Kapoor, Aurelius GRP
    • Rob Lemon, CIBC Capital Markets
    • Belle Kaura, Third Eye Capital
    • Marc Forgione, Scotiabank Global Banking and Markets
    • Claire Van Wyk-Allan, AIMA
    • Suzan Rose, AIMA
    • Adam Jacobs-Dean, AIMA


2019 Recipients

  • Exceptional Service Volunteer Award: Kurankye Sekyi-Otu, Polar Asset Management Partners
  • Outstanding Volunteer Award: Alana Johnston Gould
  • Leading Champion Award: Rob Lemon
  • Young Champion Award: Elizabeth Purrier
  • Group Impact Award: OSC Regulatory Burden Reduction Working Group
    • Stacy McLean, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
    • Chris Yeretsian, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
    • Supriya Kapoor, Aurelius GRP
    • Francesca Smirnakis, BMO Financial Group
    • Sarah Gardiner, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
    • Rob Lemon, CIBC Capital Markets
    • Tim Baron, Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
    • Raj Vijh, Lysander Funds
    • Elizabeth Purrier, while at Jemekk Capital Management Inc.
    • Michael Burns, McMillan LLP
    • Dan Dorenbush, Scotiabank Global Banking & Markets
    • Curtis Lahey, Stikeman Elliott LLP
    • Darin Renton, Stikeman Elliott LLP
    • Belle Kaura, Third Eye Capital
    • Steve Banquier, TD Securities Prime Brokerage
    • Claire Van Wyk-Allan, AIMA Canada


2018 Recipients